Nebraska's #1 Voted Computer Repair Company

Disable System Restore in Windows ME

If you need to disable System Restore in Windows XP, click on this link to visit the proper help article.

In some situations you may need to disable Microsoft’s System Restore utility in your Microsoft Windows Millennium computer in order to complete a task such as removing a virus or a piece of spyware. This help article will show you how to disable Microsoft’s System Restore utility on your Microsoft Windows Millennium
computer so you can complete your repair. We strongly suggest that you remember to re-enable the System Restore utility once your repair process is complete.


*note* Turning off System Restore deletes all previous system restore points. You must create new system restore points once you turn System Restore back on.


To turn off Windows Me System Restore

  1. On the Windows taskbar, click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
  2. Double-click the System icon.
    If the System icon is not visible, click View all Control Panel options to display it.
  3. On the Performance tab, click File System.
  4. On the Troubleshooting tab check Disable System Restore.
  5. Click OK.
  6. When you are asked to restart Windows, click Yes.
  7. Follow
    the instructions in the document that instructed you to disable System Restore
    (such as troubleshooting or virus removal).
  8. When all instructions have been
    completed, enable System Restore again by following the instructions below.

To turn on Windows Me System Restore

  1. On the Windows taskbar, click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
  2. Double-click the System icon.
    If the System icon is not visible, click View all Control Panel options to display it.
  3. On the Performance tab, click File System.
  4. On the Troubleshooting tab, uncheck Disable System Restore.
  5. On the Troubleshooting tab check Disable System Restore.
  6. Click OK.
  7. When you are asked to restart Windows, click Yes.

About Windows Millennium System Restore:

Though this is a desirable feature, in some cases System Restore should be temporarily turned off. For example, if the computer is infected with a virus, then it is possible that the virus could be backed up in the _RESTORE folder. By default, Windows prevents System Restore from being modified by outside programs. As a result, there is the possibility that you could accidentally restore a virus-infected file, or that on-line scanners would detect the virus in that location.

Disabling System Restore does not delete or remove any of your personal data from your computer. The only files removed are those that System Restore created in the _RESTORE folder, the restore points. Using System Restore to revert to a previously saved restore point does not affect any of your personal data files or any items in your My Documents folder.

This closes the door to many infections as they attempt to reinfect your system. In fact, one of the first things spyware does when it infects your PC is to drop your security settings so it can accomplish the goals of the software author without your knowledge. Checking these settings from time to time will help you keep your computer free of spyware and trojan viruses and eliminate much of the need for time consuming malware removals.

Disable System Restore in Windows ME

If you need to disable System Restore in Windows XP, click on this link to visit the proper help article.

In some situations you may need to disable Microsoft’s System Restore utility in your Microsoft Windows Millennium computer in order to complete a task such as removing a virus or a piece of spyware. This help article will show you how to disable Microsoft’s System Restore utility on your Microsoft Windows Millennium computer so you can complete your repair. We strongly suggest that you remember to re-enable the System Restore utility once your repair process is complete.


*note* Turning off System Restore deletes all previous system restore points. You must create new system restore points once you turn System Restore back on.


To turn off Windows Me System Restore

  1. On the Windows taskbar, click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
  2. Double-click the System icon.
    If the System icon is not visible, click View all Control Panel options to display it.
  3. On the Performance tab, click File System.
  4. On the Troubleshooting tab check Disable System Restore.
  5. Click OK.
  6. When you are asked to restart Windows, click Yes.
  7. Follow
    the instructions in the document that instructed you to disable System Restore
    (such as troubleshooting or virus removal).
  8. When all instructions have been
    completed, enable System Restore again by following the instructions below.

To turn on Windows Me System Restore

  1. On the Windows taskbar,
    click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
  2. Double-click
    the System icon.
    If the System icon is not visible, click View all Control Panel options to display it.
  3. On the Performance tab, click File
    System
    .
  4. On the Troubleshooting tab, uncheck Disable System Restore.
  5. On the Troubleshooting tab check Disable System Restore.
  6. Click OK.
  7. When you are asked to restart Windows, click Yes.

About Windows Millennium System Restore:

Though this is a desirable feature, in some cases System Restore should be temporarily turned off. For example, if the computer is infected with a virus, then it is possible that the virus could be backed up in the _RESTORE folder. By default, Windows prevents System Restore from being modified by outside programs. As a result, there is the possibility that you could accidentally restore a virus-infected file, or that on-line scanners would detect the virus in that location.

Disabling System Restore does not delete or remove any of your personal data from your computer. The only files removed are those that System Restore created in the _RESTORE folder, the restore points. Using System Restore to revert to a previously saved restore point does not affect any of your personal data files or any items in your My Documents folder.

This closes the door to many infections as they attempt to reinfect your system. In fact, one of the first things spyware does when it infects your PC is to drop your security settings so it can accomplish the goals of the software author without your knowledge. Checking these settings from time to time will help you keep your computer free of spyware and trojan viruses and eliminate much of the need for time consuming malware removals.

Share this post
  , , ,